We are the champions

You guessed it…I ran AGAIN this morning. Someone call the Guinness folks (World Records, not beer). Not only was I able to say, “Good morning” without hyperventilating, but also I ventured OFF THE BLOCK. I added another half block to the route and somehow still made it back alive. And instead of Kelly Clarkson, I was singing Queen on the home stretch. “We are the champions, my friends.”

But the real champion today was Connor. After 7 school mornings of telling me, “I’m scared” (sometimes repeatedly), he uttered NO such sentiment on this 8th glorious morn. In fact, when I dropped him off at preschool and the teacher prompted him to say goodbye to Mommy, he did not even look my way. He was already heading into the classroom leaving me in the dust of a Mama’s boy long gone. It was bittersweet. Sad and happy at the same time. Sadhappy. Like how I imagine it might feel dropping off your now adult baby for college. So very sadhappy. I was glad he had adjusted fully, but at the same time missed his lingering goodbye hug where the teacher had to pry him off of me. As I walked away, feeling oh so sadhappy, I realized the steps we take in persevering through the challenging pain do actually make us stronger (oh, wise Miss Clarkson) whether it be running around the block and a half or detaching from our beloved, intelligent, beautiful, world’s best (oh, sorry, what was I saying?), not so humble mother.

Now we conclude with some totally unrelated photos. This afternoon, the boys showed their Martha Stewart potential and made by hand paper costumes for their miniature dinosaurs. The dinosaurs were performing a play. Unlike the play titled “Roboty Super,” the Beckett boys may be nominated for a Tony Award for costume design.

Ethan and his four thespian dinos

Connor and his four. Warning: the play required some dino nudity with actor #3.

Yes, I know this is my 3rd blog post in 6 days. Some day I will make some friends here or maybe get my New Mexico license and find gainful employment. Until then, I am writing like a fiend. Stay tuned for tomorrow’s post on my 100th trip to Target. 🙂

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to We are the champions

  1. Caryn says:

    Keep em coming. Love reading about your adventures. I thought of you all yesterday when I saw a Land of Enchantment license plate. All the best.
    Caryn

  2. Pingback: You’re Gonna Miss This | Confessions from Momville

Leave a Reply

