Who am I?

No, not 24601. I think I might be a runner. WHAT?! Has the high altitude gone to my brain? Many of you true runners just spewed out whatever you were drinking all over your computer. However, for Leslie Beckett standards, the fact that I’ve been going for jogs around the block for almost a month certainly qualifies. I have been trying to do so 3 times a week. Since the kids did not have school Friday and we closed on our house Monday, I missed two opportunities making it a week between runs. Normally, a week between runs would be an obscene amount of exercise for a once a Leap Year runner. But for Leslie the runner, it seemed like too long! I was actually looking forward to this morning’s jaunt. WHAT?!

As if that were not unbelievable enough, I contemplated adding to my route to try the next mapped goal on my agenda. According to MapMyRun (I HAVE AN ACCOUNT ON MAPMYRUN! WHAT?!), I started with 1.5 miles, then moved up to 1.8 for awhile, and most recently 2.1. I wisely calmed down my enthusiastic self and decided to build up to the next route later. I did decide that I would reward myself with an MP3 player belated birthday present so that my hip-hop and R&B friends could carry me through that longer route when I’m ready. For running friends, please share what is the one song you definitely recommend to have on a playlist to keep your feet moving? I need all the help I can get.

Again, who am I? At this rate, I will be carrying rewards cards for craft stores or switching my wine for kale smoothies. Whoa. Let’s not be too hasty or completely unrealistic. Still, who says people can’t change? While it is true that change is not easy nor often when it comes to people, I am living proof that it is possible. I believe all people have the potential to change no matter what. No person is beyond that hope. Well, maybe a handful of Charles Manson types, but if I can go from hating the torture to enjoying the run, then maybe they can change, too. Maybe.

I know I am not the first to connect running to life, but it really is a good metaphor. My first leg involves a steep uphill climb. It’s head down and push through the pain. Once I do, I turn the corner at the top of the hill and look down at the gorgeous view of the city. The endorphins kick in and I am fully rewarded for persevering to the top. The last leg is just straight, no summit views, no uphill challenge but at the end when the body is tired. Sometimes life is extremely difficult. The mountain climb takes every ounce of mind, body and spirit. Sometimes life is breathtakingly beautiful. The high is exhilarating and ecstatic. But much of the time for some, life is routine. It is mundane. Those are the times of drudgery where we may be surprised that we are tired when things seem pretty even keel.

No matter what life is like there is always the need to keep going, to set goals, to have the carrying support of music, to pace yourself, to enjoy the view, to push forward, and to persevere. I want to maintain all of these and the perspective of enjoyment over torture whether I am running or just living life. Keep on, keeping on, friends. And don’t forget to leave me your song recommendation. Thanks!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who am I?

  1. Chan says:

    Club Can’t Handle Me – Flo Rida
    I Want To Break Free – Queen
    Pumped Up Kicks – Foster The People
    The Show Goes On – Lupe Fiasco

  2. My latest fave is Feel Again -OneRepublic
    Wanna be Startin’ Somethin’ by Michael Jackson always makes me pick up my pace.
    Enjoy your runs and your new tunes 🙂

Leave a Reply

